#SMSociety’22 Awards and Prizes


This year, the #SMSociety conference offers a number of different awards and prizes:  

Best Paper Awards

  • The Best Paper and Best Method Paper Awards – selected by the Awards Committee from the pool of accepted papers, based on the peer reviews.

Best Presentation Awards

  • Three awards for the Most Engaging Presentation – selected by you based on the popular vote at the end of each lighting talk session.

Most Engaged Attendee Awards

Most Engaged Attendee on Twitter Award

  • Following the interdisciplinary nature of the conference, we will choose the winner using the betweenness centrality score to locate the attendee who acts as a bridging agent in the #SMSociety communication network on Twitter between July 18–31, 2022.
  • The winner of this award will receive a copy of the book by our keynote Moya Bailey (2021) entitled “Misogynoir Transformed: Black Women’s Digital Resistance” (NYU Press).
  • Congratulation to Yuying Tan from the University of Antwerp who won the Most Engaged Attendee on Twitter Award!

Most Engaged Attendee on YouTube Award

  • To win this award, all you need to do is to watch and comment on as many Spotlight Talks as you can between now and July 31.
  • We will choose the winner based on the number of constructive comments posted on YouTube.
  • The winner of this award will receive a copy of the forthcoming 2nd edition of The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods (Eds: Luke Sloan and Anabel Quan-Haase).
  • Congratulation to Jill Hopke from DePaul University who won the Most Engaged Attendee on YouTube Award!

Social Media Quiz Night

  • To offer more networking opportunities for online participants, this year, we are introducing the Social Media Quiz Night! 
  • We’ll have two great MCs, Felipe Soares ana Alyssa Saiphoo, and many cool prizes to give away. 
  • Use the Zoom link provided during the conference registration to join us for this exciting and informal session at 6:30pm (EDT). 
  • Congratulation to Anna Gibson from Stanford University & Jill Fredenburg from The University of Memphis who won the Social Media Quiz!


The winners of these various awards will receive the Award Certificate and one of the following prizes:

  • Moya Bailey (2021) Misogynoir Transformed: Black Women’s Digital Resistance. (NYU Press)
  • Zoetanya Sujon (2021) The Social Media Age. (SAGE)
  • Maria-Carolina Cambre & Lavrence, C. (2022 forthcoming) Towards a sociology of selfies: Filtering the face. (Routledge)
  • Luke Sloan and Anabel Quan-Haase (2022 forthcoming) The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods, 2nd Ed.
  • Complimentary pro licenses for Socioviz, Communalytic, or Netlytic – social media research tools
  • CAD$50 gift cards from #SMSociety!

Thank you to the authors, publishers and software developers who donated these awesome prizes!