2018 About

The International Conference on Social Media & Society is an annual gathering of leading social media researchers from around the world. Now, in its 9th year, the 2018 conference is being held in Copenhagen, Denmark from July 18 to 20, 2018.

From its inception, the conference has focused on the best practices for studying the impact and implications of social media on society. Organized by the Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University, the conference provides participants with opportunities to exchange ideas, present original research, learn about recent and ongoing studies, and network with peers.

The conference’s intensive three-day program will feature full papers, work-in-progress papers, panels, and posters. The wide-ranging topics in social media showcase research from scholars working in many fields including Communication, Computer Science, Education, Journalism, Information Science, Management, Political Science, Sociology.

Conference Organizing Committee

  • Philip Mai
    Conference Chair
    Co-Director of the Social Media Lab, Ted Rogers School of Management, Toronto Metropolitan University, Canada
  • Anatoliy Gruzd
    Conference Chair
    Professor, Canada Research Chair and Director of Research at the Social Media Lab, Toronto Metropolitan University, Canada
  • Jaigris Hodson
    Poster Chair
    Associate Professor [Royal Roads University, Canada] | Canadian Science Policy Fellow [Dept. Environment and Climate Change, Canada]
  • Jenna Jacobson
    Full Papers Chair
    Assistant Professor [Retail Management, Ted Rogers School of Management] | Research Fellow [Social Media Lab, Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University, Canada]
  • Ravi Vatrapu
    Host Chair
    Professor at the Department of Digitalization of the Copenhagen Business School; Professor at the Westerdals Oslo School of Arts Communication and Technology
  • Jeff Hemsley
    Work-in-Progress(WIP) Papers Chair
    Assistant Professor [iSchool, Syracuse University, USA]
  • K. Hazel Kwon
    Work-in-Progress(WIP) Papers Chair
    Assistant Professor [Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University, USA]
  • Anabel Quan-Haase
    Panel Chair
    Professor of Information and Media Studies and Sociology [Faculty of Information and Media Studies and the Department of Sociology, University of Western Ontario, Canada]
  • Luke Sloan
    Panel Chair
    Reader | Deputy Director [Social Data Science Lab, Cardiff University, UK]

Conference Advisory Board

  • Caroline Haythornthwaite
    Advisory Board Member, 2018-2020
    Professor, School of Information Studies, Syracuse University
  • Susan Halford
    Advisory Board Member, 2017-2019
    Professor at the University of Bristol, UK | President, British Sociological Association 2018-20
  • Zizi Papacharissi
    Advisory Board Member, 2016-19
    Professor and Head, Dept. of Communication, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA; Editor, Social Media+Society
  • Barry Wellman
    Advisory Board Member, 2016-19
    INSNA Founder, Director – NetLab Network
  • William H. Dutton
    Advisory Board Member, 2016-2018
    Professor of Media and Information, Director Quello Center, Michigan State University, USA; Founding Director of the Oxford Internet Institute, UK; Professor Emeritus at the Annenberg School at USC, USA

Conference Publications Team

  • Priya Kumar
    Coordinator, Publications Team
  • Andrea Kampen
    Copy-Editor, Publications Team
  • Carlisle Kent
    Copy-Editor, Publications Team
  • Alyssa Torres
    Graphic Designer

Conference Program Committee

Adam WorrallUniversity of AlbertaCanada
Alicia WanlessSecDev FoundationCanada
Alton ChuaNanyang Technological UniversitySingapore
Anders Olof LarssonWesterdals Oslo School of Arts, Communication and TechnologyNorway
Andra SiibakUniversity of TartuEstonia
Andrea HunterConcordia UniversityCanada
Ann PegoraroLaurentian UniversityCanada
Ataharul ChowdhuryUniversity of GuelphCanada
Axel BrunsQueensland University of TechnologyAustralia
Bree McEwanDePaul UniversityUSA
Brigitte JuanalsAix-Marseille UniversitéFrance
Caroline HaythornthwaiteSyracuse UniversityUSA
Christine MoserVU University AmsterdamNetherlands
Christoph LutzNorwegian Business School, OsloNorway
Daiji HarioSetsunan UniversityJapan
David MarshallDeakin UniversityAustralia
David NieborgUniversity of Toronto ScarboroughCanada
Deena FottouhMcMaster UniversityCanada
Diane PenningtonUniversity of StrathclydeUK
Donna SmithRyerson UniversityCanada
Ebrahim BagheriRyerson UniversityCanada
Emad KhazraeeKent State UniversityUSA
Esther BraininRuppin Academic CenterIsrael
Francesco SinatoraGeorge Washington UniversityUSA
Frauke ZellerRyerson University Canada
Halvdan HaugsbakkenNorwegian University of Science and TechnologyNorway
Harry DyerUniversity of East Anglica (UEA)UK
Heidi JulienUniversity at BuffaloUSA
Igor KanovskyMax Stern Academic College of Emek YezreelIsrael
Isabella PetersZBW - German National Library of EconomicsGermany
Jacquie BurkellUniversity of Western OntarioCanada
James CookUniversity of Maine at AugustaUSA
Jean GawronSan Diego State UniversityUSA
Jean-Luc MinelUniversité Paris Nanterre-CNRSFrance
Jill HopkeDePaul UniversityUSA
Joanne McNeishRyerson UniversityCanada
John Bingham-HallUniversity College LondonUK
Jonathan ObarYork UniversityCanada
Ju-Sung LeeErasmus University RotterdamThe Netherlands
Katrin TiidenbergAarhus UniversityDenmark
Leanne BowlerUniversity of PittsburghUSA
Lina GomezUniversidad del EstePuerto Rico
Lisa GivenSwinburne UniversityAustralia
Lu XiaoSyracuse UniversityUSA
Majid KhosravinikNewcastle UniversityUK
Maral DadvarStuttgart Media UniversityGermany
Marc Esteve del ValleUniversity of GroningenNetherlands
Martin HandQueen's UniversityCanada
Mary CavanaghUniversity of OttawaCanada
Michael StefanoneUniversity at BuffaloUSA
Ming-Hsiang TsouSan Diego State UniversityUSA
Nadia CaidiUniversity of TorontoCanada
Patricia RossiniSyracuse UniversityUSA
Petr LupacCharles UniversityCzech Republic
Raquel RecueroUniversidade Católica de Pelotas (UCPel)Brazil
Renée DesjardinsUniversity of Saint-BonifaceCanada
Seth LewisUniversity of OregonUSA
Dominic YeoHong Kong Baptist UniversityHong Kong
Vanessa DennenFlorida State UniversityUSA
Yimin ChenUniversity of Western OntarioCanada
Zoetanya SujonRegent's University LondonUK
Wesam AmerNewcastle UniversityUK