The International Conference on Social Media & Society is an annual gathering of leading social media researchers from around the world. Now, in its 9th year, the 2018 conference is being held in Copenhagen, Denmark from July 18 to 20, 2018.

From its inception, the conference has focused on the best practices for studying the impact and implications of social media on society. Organized by the Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University, the conference provides participants with opportunities to exchange ideas, present original research, learn about recent and ongoing studies, and network with peers.

The conference’s intensive three-day program will feature full papers, work-in-progress papers, panels, and posters. The wide-ranging topics in social media showcase research from scholars working in many fields including Communication, Computer Science, Education, Journalism, Information Science, Management, Political Science, Sociology.

Conference Organizing Committee

  • Anatoliy Gruzd
    Conference Chair
    Associate Professor; Director of Research, Social Media Lab; Ryerson University
  • Ravi Vatrapu
    Host Chair
    Professor at the Department of Digitalization of the Copenhagen Business School; Professor at the Westerdals Oslo School of Arts Communication and Technology
  • Jenna Jacobson
    Conference Chair
    Postdoctoral Fellow, Social Media Lab, Ryerson University, Canada
  • Philip Mai, M.A., J.D.
    Conference Chair
    Director of Business and Communications, Social  Media Lab; Manager of Academic Communications, Ryerson University, Canada
  • Jeff Hemsley
    Work-in-Progress(WIP) Papers Chair
    Assistant Professor, iSchool, Syracuse University
  • K. Hazel Kwon
    Work-in-Progress(WIP) Papers Chair
    Assistant Professor, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University
  • Anabel Quan-Haase
    Panel Chair
    Associate Professor of Information and Media Studies and Sociology at the University of Western Ontario
  • Luke Sloan
    Panel Chair
    Reader, Deputy Director of the Social Data Science Lab at Cardiff University
  • Jaigris Hodson
    Poster Chair
    Assistant Professor and Program Head at the School of Interdisciplinary Studies, Royal Roads University, Canada

Conference Advisory Board

  • Susan Halford
    Advisory Board Member
    Director, Web Science Institute within Social Sciences at the University of Southampton
  • Zizi Papacharissi
    Advisory Board Member
    Professor and Head, Department of Communication, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA; Editor, Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media; Editor, Social Media and Society
  • Barry Wellman
    Advisory Board Member
    INSNA Founder, Co-Director – Netlab, University of Toronto, Canada; North American editor of Information, Communication and Society Journal
  • William H. Dutton
    Advisory Board Member
    Professor of Media and Information, Director Quello Center, Michigan State University, USA; Founding Director of the Oxford Internet Institute, UK; Professor Emeritus at the Annenberg School at USC, USA

Conference Staff

  • Kary Jiang
    Mkt. Assistant / Event Coordinator
  • Alyssa Torres
    Mkt. Assistant / Event Coordinator
  • Samantha Fritz
    Publications Team
  • Andrea Kampen
    Publications Team
  • Carlisle Kent
    Publications Team
  • Priya Kumar
    Publications Team

Conference Program Committee

Adam WorrallUniversity of AlbertaCanada
Alicia WanlessSecDev FoundationCanada
Alton ChuaNanyang Technological UniversitySingapore
Anders Olof LarssonWesterdals Oslo School of Arts, Communication and TechnologyNorway
Andra SiibakUniversity of TartuEstonia
Andrea HunterConcordia UniversityCanada
Ann PegoraroLaurentian UniversityCanada
Ataharul ChowdhuryUniversity of GuelphCanada
Axel BrunsQueensland University of TechnologyAustralia
Bree McEwanDePaul UniversityUSA
Brigitte JuanalsAix-Marseille UniversitéFrance
Caroline HaythornthwaiteSyracuse UniversityUSA
Christine MoserVU University AmsterdamNetherlands
Christoph LutzNorwegian Business School, OsloNorway
Daiji HarioSetsunan UniversityJapan
David MarshallDeakin UniversityAustralia
David NieborgUniversity of Toronto ScarboroughCanada
Deena FottouhMcMaster UniversityCanada
Diane PenningtonUniversity of StrathclydeUK
Donna SmithRyerson UniversityCanada
Ebrahim BagheriRyerson UniversityCanada
Emad KhazraeeKent State UniversityUSA
Esther BraininRuppin Academic CenterIsrael
Francesco SinatoraGeorge Washington UniversityUSA
Frauke ZellerRyerson University Canada
Gregor PetričUniversity of LjubljanaSlovenia
Halvdan HaugsbakkenNorwegian University of Science and TechnologyNorway
Harry DyerUniversity of East Anglica (UEA)UK
Heidi JulienUniversity at BuffaloUSA
Igor KanovskyMax Stern Academic College of Emek YezreelIsrael
Isabella PetersZBW - German National Library of EconomicsGermany
Jacquie BurkellUniversity of Western OntarioCanada
James CookUniversity of Maine at AugustaUSA
Jean GawronSan Diego State UniversityUSA
Jean-Luc MinelUniversité Paris Nanterre-CNRSFrance
Jill HopkeDePaul UniversityUSA
Joanne McNeishRyerson UniversityCanada
John Bingham-HallUniversity College LondonUK
Jonathan ObarYork UniversityCanada
Ju-Sung LeeErasmus University RotterdamThe Netherlands
Karine NahonInterdisciplinary Center (IDC) / University of WashingtonIsrael/USA
Katrin TiidenbergAarhus UniversityDenmark
Leanne BowlerUniversity of PittsburghUSA
Lina GomezUniversidad del EstePuerto Rico
Lisa GivenSwinburne UniversityAustralia
Lu XiaoSyracuse UniversityUSA
Majid KhosravinikNewcastle UniversityUK
Maral DadvarStuttgart Media UniversityGermany
Marc Esteve del ValleUniversity of GroningenNetherlands
Marc SmithSocial Media Research FoundationUSA
Martin HandQueen's UniversityCanada
Mary CavanaghUniversity of OttawaCanada
Michael StefanoneUniversity at BuffaloUSA
Ming-Hsiang TsouSan Diego State UniversityUSA
Nadia CaidiUniversity of TorontoCanada
Patricia RossiniSyracuse UniversityUSA
Petr LupacCharles UniversityCzech Republic
Raquel RecueroUniversidade Católica de Pelotas (UCPel)Brazil
Renée DesjardinsUniversity of Saint-BonifaceCanada
Seth LewisUniversity of OregonUSA
Dominic YeoHong Kong Baptist UniversityHong Kong
Vanessa DennenFlorida State UniversityUSA
Yimin ChenUniversity of Western OntarioCanada
Zoetanya SujonRegent's University LondonUK
Wesam AmerNewcastle UniversityUK

Comments are closed.